First DUI Penalties
Let Ohio Defense Attorneys Help You Handle a First DUI Charge
What to expect from a first drunk driving conviction
Facing a drunk driving charge for the first time can be a very confusing and lonely experience. Trust our attorneys at Yavitch & Palmer to guide you through your charges and defense.
A charge of driving under the influence of alcohol is officially called “operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol” (OVI). A first-time drunk driving conviction is a first-degree misdemeanor. You may face jail time, license suspension and will have to pay a fine, along with other repercussions. Our attorneys fight to keep your punishment as lenient as possible, so you can keep living your life. Penalties can include:
- Jail time — A minimum of three days in jail or a 72-hour driver intervention program, and a maximum of up to six months in jail.
- Fines — The financial penalties can exceed $1,000 or more
- Administrative License Suspension — A minimum license suspension of six months, and possibly as many as three years
- Reinstatement Fee — $475
- Possible mandatory DUI plates or interlock device
If you were found to have a BAC of .17 or above, your minimum jail time is doubled to six days.
What are my options?
Depending upon the evidence and the specific details of the case, there are numerous options available. It is sometimes possible to reach a favorable plea bargain, such as an amendment or reduction to Reckless Operation of a Motor Vehicle. The penalties for this offense can vary. Sometimes the agreement includes standard OVI penalties, while other times these penalties are modified to meet the various needs of the client.
Reach out to attorneys in Columbus, Ohio if you’re facing a DUI conviction
At Yavitch & Palmer Co., L.P.A., we work hard to make sure the complex legal process is as easy as possible for you. Call us or fill out our online contact form to set an appointment at our downtown Columbus office. We offer flexible meeting times for your convenience.