Close Menu
Yavitch & Palmer
Schedule a Free Consultation

Criminal Attorneys Defend Your Concealed Carry Case

PracticeAreasBanner4

Observing the law and limitations on concealed weapons

Ohio law is much stricter concerning concealed weapons than weapons displayed out in the open. Knowing what you can carry, the permits required and what restrictions exist are all critical to avoid being charged with what could be a felony offense. The lawyers at Yavitch & Palmer Co., L.P.A. understand the requirements and limitations of concealed weapon laws and fight so you are not convicted of hiding a weapon illegally.

Permission to carry a concealed weapon

First and foremost, permission to carry a concealed weapon is contingent upon the item being an eligible weapon, and you must have a permit. To carry a concealed handgun, you must apply for a permit according to the following guidelines:

  • A specified fee
  • Be an Ohio resident for a specified period of time
  • Submit to a background check
  • A color photograph taken within 30 days of the application
  • One or more competency certifications proving concealed weapon certification
  • Confirmation that the applicant has read an official information pamphlet
  • Submit to fingerprinting for the background check

Note that all concealed weapon licenses issued in Ohio expire after 5 years. If all these items are provided and your application is approved, you may carry a concealed weapon. The following people are ineligible to apply for concealed weapons permits:

  • Fugitives
  • Accused or convicted felons
  • Drug or assault offenders
  • Individuals subject to civil protection orders

Locations where concealed weapons are prohibited

You cannot carry a concealed weapon everywhere in Ohio, even with a permit. Carrying a weapon is prohibited in the following areas:

  • Public schools and public or private colleges
  • Law enforcement stations
  • Correctional facilities
  • Airports and airplanes
  • Places licensed for alcohol consumption
  • Places of worship
  • Any other location prohibited by federal law

Violating a concealed weapon law

Someone who violates Ohio’s concealed weapons law is guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor, although the circumstances around the arrest can elevate the charge to a fourth-degree felony. If the offense occurs aboard an aircraft or if you intended to conceal a weapon on an aircraft, the charge is increased to a third-degree felony, with penalties as harsh as five years in jail.

Call for legal advice if you’ve been charged with carrying a concealed weapon in Ohio

If you’ve been charged with carrying a concealed weapon, don’t face the accusations alone. Call Yavitch & Palmer Co., L.P.A. at 614.224.6142 or fill out our online form to schedule an appointment at our downtown Columbus office. Evening and weekend appointments are available when necessary.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus